Too much bass in DI guitar signal

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by HonzaS, Oct 3, 2020.

Tags:
  1. HonzaS

    HonzaS Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Hello,
    so I've just gotten into recording and for some reason my DI guitars are always waaay too bassy with a complete lack of presence. Is there a way to change the DI EQ without always having to do it afterwards?

    I'm using a Squier John 5 tele straight into a Focusrite Scarlett 3rd gen solo interface. When I use EQ to get rid of the low end, the guitars start sounding thin and harsh. I've tried a bunch of different amp sims and IRs and even tho they sound great with everything at noon in YouTube videos, they are unusable for me and I have to do some extreme tweeking.

    Sorry if I'm missing something obvious and thank you for your replies :-D P.S. I'm using Studio One.
     
  2. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Hi, and welcome!

    Can you post a short (~20 sec) MP3 clip illustrating the tone you are having a problem with? Use the "Upload a File" button at the bottom right of the reply box.
     
  3. HonzaS

    HonzaS Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Sure thing!



     

    Attached Files:

  4. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    While the raw track is never going to be a particularly attractive sound, I would not in any sense call it bass-heavy. It springs to life in your second clip when you put it through a sim and add huge dollops of cymbals.

    What sort of listening environment do you have for you to say it has excess bass?
     
    kmetal and Kurt Foster like this.
  5. paulears

    paulears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Location:
    Lowestoft - UK
    Home Page:
    I thought the same - I'm not hearing anything bassy at all - in fact my guitars sound pretty much like that via a DI? That like Boswell is hinting at, suggests the room and the monitors maybe? Is it the same on headphones?
     
    Makzimia likes this.
  6. HonzaS

    HonzaS Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Thank you guys for your feedback! I have a pair of Presonus eris e3.5 monitors while my room is not "acustically" treated. On them it really sounds bass heavy compared to recordings of other people from YouTube with the same settings. I just can't achieve a good guitar tone and mix in general even after watching and reading countless guides. The monitors tho are amazing and everything sounds great from them.

    And yes, on headphones it sounds the same.
     
  7. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Are you plugging your headphones into the phones output of the Scarlett or the phones socket on the Presonus monitors? Is there any difference between the sound when you try the two headphone outputs in turn?

    It's hard to think of those monitors with their 3.5" woofers producing an over-bassy sound.
     
  8. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    try a Hi Pass Filter @ 80 Hz while you record. maybe a little soft knee compression, 2:1 ratio with a medium attack knocking off about 3dB.

    that should get you to where it sounds like a record.
     
  9. miyaru

    miyaru Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Location:
    Zaanstad, The Netherlands
    I found out that recording straight into the audio interface isn't optimal. I have a Focusrite too - a Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen to be precise. Altough stated in the manual that one can connect a guitar straight into the unit, I always usea proper DI. For bass I use a SansAmp Bassdriver and for guitars a Radial. Since not to long, I have a Mooer RADAR - an poweramp and cabsim that goes before the interface, with very satisfying results.

    Anyway invest in a good DI box, and your guitar and bassguitar recordings will sound better. This is because the input impedence of the most audio interfaces is not high enough, while dedicated DI boxes have an hight impedence. Stuff like Mooer RADAR go after a preamp or FX unit/stompbox(es) and then it doesn't matter if you use a DI box. But maybe you want to reamp, or have total control over your sound and want a total recall situation - then use a proper DI box!
     
    kmetal likes this.
  10. Makzimia

    Makzimia The Minstrel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Keighley, England
    Home Page:
    Or pickup an eleven rack off eBay cheap and get an all around better piece of kit.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice