Synchronizing Tascam HS-P82 with SD Mixpre-6 during recording

Discussion in 'Digital Recorders' started by rojarosguitar, Jul 5, 2018.

  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

  1. rojarosguitar

    rojarosguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Location:
    Freiburg/Germany
    Hello,

    Is there anyway I could synchronize TASCAM HS-P82 with Sound Devices Mixpre-6 during recording, so that the audio tracks would be in sync for mixing.

    I have never worked with syncing, so my question may be naive, but maybe somebody has some actual experience and could share his/her knowledge.

    Thanks anyway...
     
  2. pcrecord

    pcrecord Quality recording seeker ! Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    After a first look, it doesn't seem that the mixpre-6 has any clock input or output.
    So it seems it could only be done by hand (aligning the track manually in a DAW)
    To do so, It would be easier to have the same signal (or very similar) be recorded on both units to..
    In any case both units need to record at the same resolution.

    A timecode track could be recorded on both unit as time reference but it isn't the easiest to work with (takes time to align and chase time...)
     
  3. rojarosguitar

    rojarosguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Location:
    Freiburg/Germany
    It seems the Mixpre-6 has some kind of way to sync to a camera, that's why I thought one could bring it to something that Tascam sends out...

    I asked myself how much problems could come from two different clocks at work, if I tried to align manually.
     
  4. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
    I bet you could find a BNC to HDMI converter that will get timecode from the Tascam to the Sound Devices. I'd call B&H Photo - Video - Pro Audio and talk to someone there.
     
    pcrecord likes this.
  5. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    without a doubt, more trouble than its worth. manually aligning this is always tedious. besides that, the mics are going to pick up the sound naturally at different times, if their different distances from the source. trying to account for millisecond differences of the mics pickup, and then adding potential jitter within the units internal clocks, is a nightmare of a proposition.
     
  6. rojarosguitar

    rojarosguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Location:
    Freiburg/Germany
    Yes, that was my previous experience with trying to manually align things; I want to avoid that. Thanks for the tip with B&H, I'll try that.
     
    kmetal likes this.
  7. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Your problem is that neither of the two devices appears to have any way of taking an external sampling clock or of controlling the internal clock. It doesn't matter what you record on the tracks by way of sync patterns, if you can't modify the samping rate of at least one of the devices, you will be unable to keep them in sync, whatever starting time alignment you make. Start time alignment is relatively easy to deal with in the DAW, as others have said. A recorded alignment pulse is really all that is necessary.

    The difficulty is drift in the sampling clocks over the time period of the recording and replay. The absolute clock speed is immaterial. For example, one machine could be running at 44.1KHz and the other at 48KHz, and providing you re-sample the analogue outputs from at least one of your machines into your DAW, you will only have the problem of differential drift of the two clocks.
     
    kmetal likes this.
  8. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
    Check out this video. It may be possible to send clock from one to the other.

    hs-p82_left.jpg
    MixPre-6-RightPanel-CamTCIn.png
     
    kmetal likes this.
  9. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Yes, those latest SD models look interesting. I am familiar with the previous versions, but because these latest Mixpres were new to me, I spent a bit of time going into what the HDMI TC inputs would and would not do. In the advanced mode, it looks as though the Mixpre can generate audio sampling clock from an incoming camera HDMI signal, but only if that camera is on a certified list from Sound Devices. As far as I can tell, it won't take an audio standard word clock or other non-video external timing source for generating a sampling clock.

    If you had a certified camera for TC generation, you could probably run this latest model of Mixpre using an external sampling clock. However, I don't see a way of syncing the other recorder to the camera or to the Mixpre.
     
    kmetal likes this.
  10. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
  11. rojarosguitar

    rojarosguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Location:
    Freiburg/Germany
    Thanks, that's quite pricey indeed; with prices for the Tascam HS-P82 going down on the second hand market I might rather buy another one and sync them in no time.

    This looks like an interesting option, I need to understand LTC time code more precisely and whether the Tascam sends anything that can be understood by the Mixpre as LTC timecode to which it can lock...
     
  12. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
    LTC wouldn't be enough. It's just a linear version of SMPTE that you can record to an audio track. You'd want to get word clock from one to the other. Well, LTC might be enough to guide resampling one to the other but that would be less than ideal.
     
  13. rojarosguitar

    rojarosguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Location:
    Freiburg/Germany
    I was affraid it is like that...:(
     
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice