Setting up and using multiple Speakers question.

Discussion in 'Monitoring' started by Jarci, May 12, 2010.

  1. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    I'm interested in buying a speaker splitter. But I have no clue on what I may need or if I'm buying the correct one. I'm looking to buy one that will support at least 3 speakers. So far i Have two sets of speakers: Samson Audio - Resolv 40a and a pair of EPI 100 i bought from goodwill for like 5 dollars.

    I'm looking to get something like this: NEW 5 Speaker Selector Switch Switcher Splitter,200Watt - eBay (item 270563099833 end time May-13-10 12:08:31 PDT) to switch between speakers. Will this work?

    Is the hook up like this:
    The output of my sound board (maudio project mix) will go into the RCA input of the samson then,
    the L and R cable wires will hook into the speaker 1 of the "speaker selector" or the amplifier of the "speaker selector"?

    I just want to make sure I'm doing this right before I go out a purchase this. Thank You

    Jarci
     
  2. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    No, sorry, it won't quite work in the way you suggest. The Reesolv 40as have a stereo power amplifier in the right-hand cabinet that drives the right-hand speaker internally. The drive for the left-hand speaker is brought out on terminals that you connect to the passive left hand speaker.

    What you have to do is treat the Resolvs as a pair of active monitors and split the signal at the line-level output of your Project Mix. Run that stereo signal into a passive RCA selector box such as this one. Take one output of the selector box to the RCA input of your Resolvs, and another output to a separate stereo amplifier to drive the EPI 100s. Repeat that for another two pairs of speakers if you need to.
     
  3. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    Whoa, so i will need two different equipment to make this happen: The selector box for the passive RCA and a stereo amplifier?? What if my EPI 100's are wired and not RCA?
     
  4. djmukilteo

    djmukilteo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    Rainy Roads WA USA
    Jarci:
    I looks like you have two Line Outs on the M-Audio. So I would take #1 line out using a 1/4"-RCA patch cable to the Resolves and the #2 line out using 1/4"-RCA to the input of a small amp or hi-fi receiver to your $5 speakers. No switcher needed. If you use a hi-fi receiver (goodwill maybe if you don't have one lying around?!?!) most of those have multiple speaker hookups on the back...(A/B/C) so you could hookup more speakers to that and use it as a switcher....
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice