freelancer racks

MicrophoneMan

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2001
sitting here another morning before I tread off to my afternoon weasel gig - I recollect the events of a previous night's session. One remining me just how much you can do with a few good pieces of gear when you take the time to really use it. At the same time, can anyone reflect on being in your early 20's - trying to make your own records rather than watching others do it (even though that does have it's merits).

always such a tough call bouncing back and forth between mics you want, preamps you want, compressors you want - and picking up little pedals and gadgets inbetween, and then letting life expenses get in the way as well.

then, as a freelancer - the $*^t you buy should only really be the $*^t you really need. what's the point if the rooms you work in have it? at the same time, you want something unique that is flexible in the sounds you can take from it.

shopping for old compressors (cheap ones, just for the fact they sound like something) often makes one feel better, yet the "really could use 15k worth of $*^t but have hardly any of that" blues kinda suck.

the point of this? I'm not sure - anyone on these groups do the freelance gig amongst a wide genre of music? ( I go from recording stereo classical to rock to electronica)

would really be interested in what some of you tote around with you.
 

anonymous

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2001
I can do that "U2 record in a castle" type of thing now - I have taken my whole studio and set it up elsewhere.. and enjoy doing it too...

Prior to that for 3 or so years or so here was my tools list:

Genelec 1031A's + Beringer Ultracurve + measuring Mic
SSL compressor
API 4 x mic pre (4231)
Focusrite 215
Finalizer (unused now!)
Beringer Composer compressor
Marshall JMP1 - gtr valve Pre amp

That was the core of my 'freelancer rack' I used it to track & mix on 2" tape.

Using the Ultracurve, measuring mic and the dip switches on the Genelec's I would first set the monitors to a prefered EQ curve I had stored in the unit.

:)
 

isoloop@juno.com

Guest
Let me first say that freelancing is the only way to go. I owned a studio and it was no fun at all. I prefer making records and supporting my crazy, studio-owning friends.

Here is an abbreviated list of what I travel with.

Pair 1176's
Alan Smart Comp
Pair Spectra Sonics 610 Complimiters
Manley stereo Pultec
Pair Telefunken V72's
Digi 001 (for editing)
3M M-79 1/2" 2 track
Lots of mics, instruments an various electronic gadgets.
Cargo van.

I used to own a lot more stuff, but I decided to strip it back to just the stuff I felt I needed and that studios are not likely to have. These items are enough to get me by on a variety of sessions in the places I tend to work.
 

drumsound

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
3M M-79 1/2" 2 track

Who converted your M79 to a 1/2"? I've got an M79 24 track. It's been modded and completely rocks. Have you had the electronics tweaked?
 

isoloop@juno.com

Guest
Corky at Sound and Vision converted a 1/2" 4 track to a 2 track for mixdown. He did the standard mods to the audio cards to change the op amps to 5534's. I really want to switch to the Stephens audio cards or even the 3M M-56 electronics. The M-79 cards sound great, but I think it would be fun to try the other electronics. It is really easy to work on these machines. I do all of my own maintainance and mods now. My next plan is to chop this machine down and put the transport in a roadcase. I hate moving this beast the way it is.
 

drumsound

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
There are some guys in GA who do fantastic things to M79s. The S/N ratio is improved by 30db and the frequency response is just ridiculous. Send me and email if you'd like to get in touch with them.
 

drumsound

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
I was also wondering how freelancers integrate their racks to the rooms they go to. I would think having a TT patchbay as part of the rack would work. Then you could patch your stuff to the house bay. Is this wrong?
 

isoloop@juno.com

Guest
I have my stuff wired to XLR's. All of the studios where I work have a producers
XLR patch bay where I can plug in my gear and it shows up on their TT patch bay. This way I can hook up my gear with mic cables and patch it like it is the house outboard gear.
 

MadMoose

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2001
Originally posted by Lord Alvin:
. All of the studios where I work have a producers XLR patch bay where I can plug in my gear and it shows up on their TT patch bay. This way I can hook up my gear with mic cables and patch it like it is the house outboard gear.

One studio around here actually had 16 XLR's and 16 TRS points on the island that were wired to the patchbay. I have TRS bays and I keep a few 1/4" snakes and a couple of XLR to TRS cables on hand. Most guys bringing gear into my room don't have patchbays and rely on me for cabling.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top